Skip to main content
calendar menu close

Channel 4 Playwright Scheme

Channel 4 Playwright Scheme

Channel 4 Playwright Scheme

It’s part of our remit to seek out new voices and help them find an audience. It was with this in mind, together with our desire to nurture talent, that we took over the Pearson’s Playwright Scheme in 2013. Joe Penhall, Peter Moffat, Lucy Prebble, Jack Thorne, Martin McDonagh, Nancy Harris, Hanif Kureishi, Lydia Adetunji, Richard Bean and Tanika Gupta are just some of the names that have delighted, challenged and entertained audiences with the support of this scheme.

It’s our intention to continue this rich tradition for encouraging and supporting such a diversity of talent.

The Channel 4 Playwright Scheme will award five bursaries to emerging writers, nominated by UK theatre Artistic Directors. They will go on to take up a year’s attachment to their chosen theatre and be invited to submit their work for The Sonia Friedman Productions Award in the year that follows.

Latest Tweets @4Talent

07 Jul RT @BFIFilmAcademy: ONE MONTH LEFT to submit your shorts to the BFI Future Film Festival 2021! ⌛️🏃‍♀️🏃🎥 ▷ Aged 16 - 25 ▷ Films 10 mins or…

29 Jun Interested in a career in TV production?📺 C4 has partnered with @NFTSFilmTV to deliver a number of online sessions…

Follow us